R48 6 Stop #3 Plummer Bash: Preview

Posted on Jan 11 2017 - 10:08am by DV

Coeur d’Alene, ID, WPH Press, 1/8/17- The World Players of Handball and the Jake Plummer Foundation are proud to present the Race 4 Eight 6 Stop #3 Plummer Family Handball Bash 8 in Coeur d’Alene Idaho at the Peak Health and Wellness Center (940 Ironwood Dr. Coeur d’Alene, Idaho 83814) from January 20-22, 2017. 16 of the world’s top 30 handball players will be on hand at the 2017 Plummer Bash, including nine of the top 10 pros on the Race 4 Eight tour. Several of the United States’ top women stars will also be on hand competing in women’s pro singles, as well as nearly 100 age division and skill level players from across the U.S.

The Plummer Bash started in 2008 and quickly became of the sport’s best events. Hosted and run by former NFL star quarterback turned handball ambassador Jake Plummer, Jake and the Plummer family ensure that every player and fan enjoys a sensational weekend of handball, hospitality, and the best Coeur d’Alene has to offer.

While many of the amateur players and fans will descend on Coeur d’Alene for a weekend of fun, the Race 4 Eight’s top stars will be battling for crucial Race 4 Eight ranking points in the third stop on the seven-stop Race 4 Eight 6 season. Current Race 4 Eight #1 Mando Ortiz has appeared in both Race 4 Eight finals this season, losing in the final at October’s Simple Green U.S. Open and winning November’s second stop in Minnesota. Ortiz will be aiming for his third consecutive R48 final, but will have to contend with Race 4 Eight Elite 8 rivals Sean Lenning (WA), Killian Carroll (IRE), David Fink (AZ), Emmett Peixoto (CA), Luis Moreno (AZ), Luis Cordova (MEX), and Daniel Cordova (TX). The Plummer Bash also features an outstanding preliminary round field vying to meet the Race 4 Eight’s Elite 8 in the round of 16, headlined by Pacific Northwest hopefuls Dalton Beall and Cody Townsend of nearby Oregon. Joining the Oregon stars will be top 20 Race 4 Eight pros Jonathan Iglesias (CO), Vic Perez (CA), Marcos Chavez (CA), and Abraham Montijo (AZ).

“The Race 4 Eight is about as wide open as its ever been, with everyone in the top eight being a legitimate threat to win a Race 4 Eight title,” stated WPH Executive Director David Vincent. “We’ve had five different winners in the last eight events, the most different winners in any eight-event span in the sixth year of the tour, first-time finalists, new number one’s, and a great group of early 20-something stars ready to take the mantle at the top of the sport.”

How can you watch?

The WPH will stream all of the action on all of our Facebook pages via FacebookLive. You will not need a password or any setup before the event—just go to the #TeamR48 page, WPH Outdoor page, WPH homepage, or all of our other Facebook pages. Wow!

Plummer Bash Fun Facts (2008-present)

·      The 2017 Plummer Bash is the 8th edition of the Plummer Bash

·      Naty Alvarado defeated Allan Garner to win the inaugural Plummer Bash in 2008. Dave Vincent and Emmett Peixoto teamed to win the inaugural Bash doubles in the same year

·      Luis Moreno and Sean Lenning are the only players to have played in every Plummer Bash

·      The Plummer Bash hosted the first R48 event in history in October of 2011 (Moreno def Alvarado in the final). 35 Race 4 Eight R48 events have been played since the 2011 Plummer Bash

·      Only Race 4 Eight event hosted by a former NFL starting qb

·      Event was sold out within two weeks of the entry going live

·      Mando Ortiz became the first qualifier to reach a Race final at the 2013 Race 4 Eight II Plummer Bash

·      Allan “The Blonde Bombshell” Garner won his first and only Race title at the 2013 Race 4 Eight II Plummer Bash

·      Sean Lenning has lost in the last two Plummer Bash finals (2014, 2015) and has never won the Plummer Bash (0-7)

·      Luis Moreno enters the Plummer Bash as the Bash’s defending champion (October 2015)

·      Luis Moreno has won the most Plummer Bash titles (3)

·      The Plummer Bash will feature a women’s pro singles bracket (non WR48) featuring current and former WR48 stars Tracy Davis, Jessica Gawley, Ashley Moler, Courtney Peixoto, as well as rising Southeast star Aimee Ulbert

Plummer Bash List of Men’s Pro Champions

2008: Alvarado

2009: Moreno

2010: Chapman

*2011: Moreno

*2013: Al. Garner

2014: Peixoto

2015: Moreno

*Denotes official R48 event

Plummer Bash FAQ’s answered here

To follow the draws and results from the Plummer Bash 8, click here

Log onto wphlive.tv, Like the World Players of Handball on Facebook, or follow the WPH on Twitter @dfwph and @wphlive for all of the handball news from on and off the court! The World Players of Handball is a non-profit foundation aiming to grow the game of handball through innovation and inspiring the next generation of players through junior clinics with Certified WPH Coaches, junior tournaments and the Race 4 Eight and WPH Outdoor tours.

David Fink

WPH Senior Writer