2015 Reflections & Upcoming 2016, by Glenn T Hall, USHA One-Wall Commissioner

Posted on Jan 28 2016 - 11:02am by DV
Bogota Olympic Stadium w/Author Glenn T Hall

Bogota Olympic Stadium (Colombia) w/Author Glenn T Hall, USHA One Wall Commissioner

This past year we held our most successful Player of the Year Awards Dinner honoring the best Small Ball & Big Ball Athletes. The Decorations were All-American and even those Winners who were unable to attend video streamed in live giving thanks and support for our event. We honor Men, Women, and Junior Girls and Boys in each age group as well as Legends for men and Women.

At the small ball Nationals, Tyree Bastidas won for the Pro singles for the 3rd straight year then teamed with Billy O’Donnell (his first National Title) to complete the Slam in Doubles. Danielle Daskalakis edged Sandy Ng in a tiebreaker win then teamed together to take the Women’s Open Doubles. Max Taranov displayed pro level skills winning the A Singles division. Steven Woo earned the B Singles win and Luis Quinonies took the C Singles crown.

In the Age group divisions, Andy Rousseau returned to the Winners Circle in the 40 + Singles Division and Tony Roberts & George Figueroa were over powering in the 40+ Doubles Division. Rich Mascia defended his 50+ Singles win and Joe Agosto continued to defy age with his 60+ Singles win. The 60+ Doubles was won by Artie Diamant (he now needs just 4 more to Grand National Status) and myself. Mike Schneider in the 65+ Singles earned his first National title. Dan Flickstein took the 70+ Singles crown and needs just 1 to reach his Grand National Status. The 70+ Doubles had Gram Palmore/Tom Vitale as the odds on favorites but someone forgot to tell the Winners Steve Kraft & Sal Cataudella.

The Big Ball (aka Wallball) National Championships reflected the hard work and dedication of our key One-Wall Committee members. The Pro Singles had Tywan Cook win after a few years of 2nd places. Timbo Gonzalez/Allan Sanchez won the Pro Doubles. The Women’s Open Singles & Doubles Sandy Ng finally slammed beating her arch rival, Danielle Daskalakis, then teaming together for the Doubles win. The Men’s Open Singles was won by Tony Laing and David Schiller won the drop down A Singles. Liang was not finished as he also added the B Singles to his credits. The C Singles Crown was won by Jack Novick.

The 40+ Singles was rain delayed

The 50+ Division was dominated by Paul Previti, and the 19 & Under was won by future star Richard Pelliccia.

In 2016, we look to raise the bar once again. With the strong efforts of the One-Wall committee we look to increase the Pro prize purses, top last year’s Player of the Year Awards Dinner and increase crossover participation between one wall small ball, big ball and 4 wall players. We also wish to add a 60+ event to the Big Ball Nationals (we fell short this year with just myself and Mike Schneider Sr entering). We hope to send Our TEAM USA to represent us in the Olympic Exhibition event to be held next summer in Bogota, Colombia. We will certainly need financial support and we at the USHA have many funds which should accommodate your desired donation, but we always need your help. Thanks for the Great Year!!!!!

by Glenn T Hall, USHA One-Wall Commissioner